Protective Styling: Hiding More Than Ends

Protective styles are often hailed as one of the solutions to healthy, lush hair. What’s not to love about it? They’re a great way to get creative with your hair, in addition to providing length retention.  I like to work out sometimes, and protective styles are a great way to “keep it cute” without having to worry about doing my hair every day.

We praise the benefits of protective styling, but I wouldn’t be completely honest if I said these are some of the reasons why I love protective styling so much. When I transitioned and did the big chop, I wore protective styles for months before I finally revealed my hair. It was part convenience, part shame. I didn’t like my coily, highly textured hair, so I used protective styles as a way to hide my disdain. If I didn’t see it, I didn’t have to deal with learning how to work with it.

It’s been about four years since I did my big chop, and it’s been quite a ride with loving my natural hair. Despite the positive comments I receive, sometimes I struggle with accepting my hair and discovering all the wonderful things I can do. I still wear protective styles often, but I want to embrace my natural hair texture more and become truly free in accepting all of me, hair and all.

With the warm weather already here, I’ve literally “let my hair down” a few times, enjoying the breeze that flows through, and the feeling of the warm sun that shows off my hair’s beautiful sheen. It feels great to let my hair do its thing, even when the humidity is 100% and it shrinks into a TWA. I’m learning that all the negativity I have about my hair texture is all in my head, and on top of that head is a beautiful mane that I shouldn’t be afraid to show off.

Have you ever used protective styles (weaves, braids, etc.) as a way of hiding your hair’s texture?

Comments
2 Responses to “Protective Styling: Hiding More Than Ends”
  1. Kelly says:

    Love love love

Post a Reply

