Lakruwana

A few weeks ago, I visited one of my new favorite restaurants, Lakruwana. This was my second time here, and it was just as good as the first. Lakruwana is a Sri Lankan restaurant-and if you never had Sri Lankan food, it’s a fusion of Middle Eastern, Indian, and Malaysian cuisine (or at least that’s my interpretation, lol).  Translation: a flavorful feast for your tastebuds!

My friend had the lamprie -a Dutch inspired, curried meat dish layered with basmati rice, caramelized onions, cashew nuts, and stewed eggplant, among other tasty tidbits. I had this my first time here, and I can see why it’s one of their most popular dishes. Everything seemed to be bursting with its own distinct flavor.

lamprie, traditionally served in a plantain leaf

I wanted to get the lamprie again, but decided to try something different. I love spicy food, so I ordered their deviled chicken, which had a really great spicy (and subtlety sweet) sauce, with sauteed onions and peppers. Absolutely delicious-I found myself scraping my container hard trying to get every.last.bit. of sauce  out while eating lunch the next day.

deviled chicken with basmati rice

Along with the great food, Lakruwana’s atmosphere is really peaceful.  On the outside, Lakruwana’s almost easy enough to be unnoticed- but the restaurant’s decor is absolutely breathtaking.  Like traveling to Sri Lanka from Staten Island without a hitch. Between the exotic furnishings and calming music, it’s easy to get relaxed and have a great time. I stepped into a different world where time doesn’t fly by when you’re having fun, and I savored in every minute.

one of the most creative menus I’ve seen

Another great thing about Lakruwana? It’s really affordable (an appetizer sampler and two entrees were about $35) and it’s BYOB. The owner Ruwan is very gracious, and has a presence that puts you at ease.

For all my NYC foodies, it’s definitely worth a trip over to Staten Island. Even as a Jersey girl, I’ll gladly take the Verrazano and deal with crazy New York drivers to visit here again.

Post a Reply

