Strictly Roots

This weekend, a friend of mine invited me to a vegan restaurant that was celebrating their last opening day. Normally, vegan restaurants aren’t my first (or second…or fifth) choice for dining-and this is coming from a former vegetarian (and semi-vegan). I find vegan food to be a hit or miss a lot of times…and if I’m spending money in this recession, it needs to be a hit! Needless to say, the restaurant was offering free food as part of their celebration, and my friend constantly raved about it-so I figured why not?

And I’m glad I did! Not only was the food absolutely delicious, but Strictly Roots had a great, friendly, and warm vibe-like going over to a friend’s house to grab a bite. The staff and patrons were very welcoming, and you can tell that Strictly Roots will be sorely missed-they’ve been a mainstay in Harlem for over 30 years.

from l to r: rice and beans, fried tofu, baked pumpkin, vegan mac and cheese

same food, just with the collard greens 🙂

Their food definitely had a Caribbean/African twist. Everything on my plate was well-seasoned, and I wouldn’t have guessed they don’t put added salt in their food, if my friend didn’t tell me.

strictly roots menu

Plenty of people came out to wish Strictly Roots farewell with poems, gifts, and heartfelt well-wishes.

We spoke to the owner, who was closing up shop to live in Ghana and continue to work on some great projects there. He’s an avid traveler and has been going to Ghana at least four times a year for the past 10 years.  In his words, “Home is calling me.” He is a great guy-very personable and passionate about healthy living. Gotta love it.

my friend talking with the owner

Although this was my first and last time going to Strictly Roots, I would’ve definitely been a repeat customer. The experience was one to remember-the food, people, and atmosphere was a great way to start my weekend.

Ever discovered a great restaurant a little too late? Would you ever try vegan food?

Comments
4 Responses to “Strictly Roots”
  1. Rita says:

    You’re a brilliant writer my friend. I’m glad this experience was memorable. Peace & Love.

Post a Reply

