A Little Bit of Tenderness

I haven’t been having the best of weeks lately. Between dealing with difficult bosses at work, having to take a week off work because of illness, and being really tired and worn, I felt like I’ve been putting myself in overdrive and I needed to step on the brakes. Listening to all that’s been going on in the news lately doesn’t do much to uplift the spirits, either.

Ever felt like your life was a repeat of the Twilight Zone? Last week felt a little bit like that. I just had another huge argument with my boss, and it took everything out of me not to lose my cool. As I was on my way back home last week, I see my bus driver carrying two vanilla bean frappuccinos. I got a little giddy inside, knowing that one of those was mine (or so I hoped). And one of them was! Just the other day, I was discussing coffee and how much I loved those drinks. It meant a lot that someone remembered that, and it couldn’t have come at a better time that day.

That simple gesture made my whole week. All the tension and resentment I felt that day melted, just like the drink did slowly on that hot day.  I noticed it was the first time in a long time that I sat there and enjoyed something, anything, in the present, even if it was as simple as a cool drink.

Sometimes, it feels like our life is orchestrated to happen in one big rush. We rush to go to work, rush to get out, rush to do our errands, rush to spend time with family and friends. Before we know it, we get to a certain age and start to wonder “Where did all the time go?” We’re so busy hustling and surviving, that we forget to be and breathe. And enjoy the simple things. Like a vanilla bean frappuccino on a sunny, spring day.

Amidst all the craziness that we experience and hear about every day, kindness still abounds. We all need a reminder time to time.

Those overpriced drinks at Starbucks hold a little more weight now.

Comments
2 Responses to “A Little Bit of Tenderness”
  1. Ms. Nikks says:

    That was really sweet! It came at the perfect time for you and I’m glad. Sometimes we all need that pick me up and reminder that there are kind, caring people in the world. A moment to slow down and count our blessings. Here’s to a great week ahead.

Post a Reply

