I’m Addicted to You-A Product Junkie’s Confession

My bff, partner-in-crime, and should be blogger Aliya has a post for all the product junkies out there! Enjoy!

Let me find out you got me Amy Wine'd out

Pookie’s love for the pipe has NOTHING on my love for products. Qhemet Biologics. Karen’s Body Beautiful. Oyin Handmade. Bee Mine. Kinky-Curly. Afroveda. Giovanni. Curls. Shea Moisture. Jane Carter Solution. Aphogee. Organic Root Stimulator. Aubrey Organics. The list goes on and on. I’m not a hoarder, I just enjoy having a plethora of products in my arsenal. Hoarders’ rooms are deplorable. Mine is tolerable. You can find dead animals, diapers and rotted floor boards in a hoarder’s room. You won’t find a decayed kitten under my curl enhancements. I promise you that.

Don’t you have a vice? When’s the last time my shea butter caused a head-on collision or lung cancer? Hmm? Speak up, I can’t hear you. Never! That’s when. Don’t be mad at me because I don’t have to quit my habit. Suggesting that I should “narrow it down” will only earn you the sounds of crickets and the emotion of apathy. We product junkies don’t have favorites so don’t try to make us choose. Would you make a mother of seven chose her favorite child? Exactly. So let me live. “Why do you have so much stuff?” To that I say, “Why are you worried about it? Do you pay for my habit? No you don’t!” (insert stereotypical neck roll and finger wave here). Maybe you’re satisfied with a wide tooth comb and a jar of grease. Sorry, I can’t say the same…no I’m not.

If you’re a product junkie, or interested in becoming one you are not alone. Check out Productjunkiediva, Richeau, and Tastiredbone on YouTube.

  • Productjunkiediva almost never shows her face, but that doesn’t stop her from showing her impressive stash. Check out her products here: http://youtu.be/bGVPsyf0A-I
  • Tastiredbone has a stash that puts me to shame. Her hair is type 4A and you can always count on her for an honest review. If the product sucks, you’ll know it. Find her channel here: http://youtu.be/jeEC_HjKQik .
  • Richeau is a gem. She’s sassy and sweet at the same time and has definitely been questioned just as I have. When asked how she affords her products she responded, “I’m a hair pimp with hair hoes!” Love it. Check out her channel here: http://youtu.be/s6-8XRH7icE

You can also check out Lolasgreenhair.com where junkies unite and sell gently used products. Longhaircareforum and Fotki are great for finding other naturals with textures similar to yours and seeing what products work for them. If the internet isn’t enough, a lot of us hang out at natural hair mixers and other events. If you see an opportunity for a product swap take advantage of it. Just remember not to come empty handed, because more than likely you will leave the same way.

Post a Reply

