Fairy Knots

Fairy knots=the bane of  every natural’s existence.

Most people have experienced those lovely, tiny knots that strip away length and make your ends feel like they’ve been through the wire. Fairy knots are caused by a single strand of hair that tangles upon itself.   I used to struggle with MAJOR fairy knots, and I’ll get so frustrated that I would snap them off (I know-I violated natural hair rule #1…lol).  Over the years, I’ve taken note of things that I’ve done wrong and right with my hair. While you can’t get rid of fairy knots completely, there are ways to reduce them drastically.

I used to wash my hair all at once…which is a big no for me! Since I have very thick, tightly coiled hair, washing my hair without sectioning it first made my hair more tangled. Now, I deep condition my hair, detangle, and wash in sections. Also, I would dry my hair without stretching it before. Another HUGE mistake. When tightly coiled hair is wet and dries without being stretched first, the hair starts to coil and wrap around each other, causing tangles and knots (and frustrating detangling sessions later). Trimming hair is also essential to reducing fairy knots. If you wear your hair in “out” styles frequently (such as twistouts, braidouts, and fros), then consider trimming your hair every 4-6 weeks. You can trim your hair two to three times a year, if you often wear it  in protective styles. It all depends on your hair and how you care for it.

However, the most effective way to reduce fairy knots is MOISTURE. That’s it. Moisture is important because it makes detangling easier- your hair already has some “slip” in it, so to speak. Dry ends lead to split ends and fairy knots, which eventually will break off or need cutting.  Coily hair needs to be moisturized at least once a day, but twice a day is best.  I strive to do it twice daily (even when I wear protective styles), and it has made a big difference in my hair’s health.  One tip is to apply moisturizer to the ends first and work up to the roots.  The ends of your hair are the driest, and therefore need the most moisture. The roots are closer to the scalp and its natural oils, and don’t need as much product.

Ingredients such as olive, castor, and almond oil, and shea butter are great for sealing in moisture. My personal favorite is Aubrey Organics’ Honeysuckle Rose Moisturizing Conditioner-coconut cream, aloe vera, and shea butter are among its top ingredients.  Or, you can apply an oil of your choice to your hair,  apply a plastic cap for  15 minutes, and detangle before shampooing. Your hair will thank you : )

Comments
4 Responses to “Fairy Knots”
  1. Kerline says:

    I enjoyed this, thanks for the tips!! I’ve heard of sectioning off the hair when washing, but have never tried it myself due to laziness (terrible I know! lol). Anywhos, I’m going to give it a try, cuz these fairy knots have gotta go! I need to take better care of my hair. Keep the posts coming!

    -Kelz

  2. Aliya says:

    I will definitely trim and stretch my hair more often. Thanks for the great tips!

Post a Reply

